Home > Dojo News, Random Thoughts > Ah, Retirement

Ah, Retirement


I must apologize for being away for the past week or so. Life has been hectic.

Two huge life events occured yesterday:
I turned 25…for the SECOND time
I retired from my job after almost 25 years. That’s half my life. Not half of my adult life, half of my entire life.

So a new chapter is opening for me and I have chosen to meet it in the same manner as I would anythng else, with wonder and excitement. There are some things I actually have to “detox” myself from as you can imagine after working at a job where your stress level is always at a max. By the way, you get used to that stress but it manifests itself in things like high blood pressure.

Devoting more time to my art and to my teaching are top things on my “To Do List”. I have actually had more time over the past couple of months to do just that.

If you like the blog, don’t worry. I’ll be back on here regularly pretty soon!

Categories: Dojo News, Random Thoughts
  1. May 8, 2012 at 10:55 am

    Today i remembered my dads retirement,,,initially its a bit dificult cos you are so used to getting up at a time and doing all that work…but soon the happy post retirement days will catch up specially with your hobby as your pal 🙂
    Wish you lovely inspiring days ahead 🙂
    A card for you 🙂

  2. May 8, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Hooray for your retirement. Wishing you much bliss and satisfaction in your teaching. Looking forward to your next posts!

  3. May 9, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    I think I may truly be blessed. Two days after the hoopla of Flag Ceremonies and retiring, I went in for an interview with Home Depot today and was hired. So many people out there struggling to find a job and here I am, already employeed 48 hours after I retire.

  4. May 25, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    Did your coworkers give you a goodbye party?

    Cheers, Sensei !

    • May 26, 2012 at 12:12 am

      Hi Ren. No, not really. I did have a Flag Ceremony though where a lot of the guys showed up and were there for when they Color guard presented me with my flag.

      Funny. You retire from the Fed BOP and it’s almost like a military funeral

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

