It Will Pass


A student went to his meditation teacher and said, “My meditation is horrible! I feel so distracted, or my legs ache, or I’m constantly falling asleep. It’s just horrible!”

“It will pass,” the teacher said matter-of-factly.

A week later, the student came back to his teacher. “My meditation is wonderful! I feel so aware, so peaceful, so alive! It’s just wonderful!’

“It will pass,” the teacher replied matter-of-factly.

Change is the only constant in the universe. If we can accept that fact, we can find peace within ourselves.

One thing people seem to forget is that no matter how bad things are at the present time, they will usually change. Sometimes to our dismay they change for the worst. When that happens it is imperative to remember that, quite simply, it will not last.

We all go through phase in life where just nothing seems to go our way. I have personally experienced this over the past few years. Sometimes it seems like karma will just refuse to stop punching even when we are down. I have learned that it is at this very time when we are close to enduring the storm and coming out of it.

Likewise, there are times when we seem to go through times of growth, joy, prosperity, and happiness that seem to be endless. Just as the negative things and times in life fool us into believing that there is no end in sight, so do the positive and good times lull us into neglecting what could happen.

Once again it goes back to balance. Not of good or bad necessarily but of vigilance in good times and bad times. It is only when we become complacent in our lives that we allow things to trap us or take us by complete surprise.

The meditation teacher in the story had knowledge of this. The student came to him worrying about how bad he was doing in his meditation. A mere week later the situation had changed. The student was elated but the teacher knew that not even that would last.

Life moves in phases. It ebbs and flows like the ocean tides. I think it is all a learning process and the real test is not what adversity comes against us but how we react to it and how we handle ourselves through it. In tough times we are put through the fires. Those fires are what shape us and mold us. None of us crave negativity in our lives. We do not seek it. It is not welcomed. That is human nature and it is the way we are built. I once read a book called Failing Forward. It was required in a Leadership Class I was taking at work. In that book the writer pretty much stated that we should seek out failure. We should look for it for it would teach us valuable lessons in life. True; failure will do that but to me seeking it on purpose was pure insanity. I never finished the book and actually admitted to my instructor that I thought it was pure BS. I was one of the last people in the class to give my opinion of it after everyone else, trying to please the teacher, had spoken so very highly of it. I told them that I was a Correctional Officer. Failure in my duties could lead to someone getting hurt or dying. The cost of my failure was not worth the lesson learned.

To get back on track; even though we do not seek negativity in life, we should attempt to learn from it and allow ourselves to be made stronger by it. By doing this hopefully we will not make the same mistakes that brought us to the point we have found ourselves in. Likewise, when life is good we shouldn’t become complacent. It is better to be prepared for something and it not happen than to not be prepared for it when it does.

  1. April 6, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    Jim, I had goosebumps while reading this. It’s so timely at this moment in my life. The dual nature of life does change the tide of our experiences. It’s comforting to know everything does pass or at least the struggle with what is.

    It’s interesting but I just finished telling my mate, that today I noticed that I keep getting messages that have water in it, from quotes with beautiful images of water, to opening a book on healing that speaks of “the pond of the mind”, and you speak of the ocean’s tides.

    Enjoyed this, will come back to read it again.

    • April 7, 2012 at 11:06 pm

      As I said. the ebb and flow of the ocean. Everything in or existence does that.

  2. April 6, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    So true good days or bad days wlll coe and go….do not become arrogant and careless in happy days and bitter and cynical in bad ones….learn from them and move forward ….lovely inspiring post

  3. April 7, 2012 at 5:14 am

    YUP! 🙂

  4. April 9, 2012 at 11:57 am

    ” Seek out failure “… and you said BS to it. Bravo ! !

    Great post , Sensei !

  5. April 12, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    Wonderful lesson on “going with the flow” and being strong in the low and the highs and BALANCED throughout! Thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

