Home > Karate, Martial Arts, Philosophy, Random Thoughts > Secret Of Success?

Secret Of Success?


There are a lot of people out there with a lot of blogs and websites who claim to have the secrets to being successful locked away in the palms of their hands. Some of them offer to tell you these secrets for a fee. Some spout them openly to anyone who will listen as a means, not of passing on success, but making themselves successful. They feel that if people look at them as wise and having information to make others succeed then they will, in their hearts and minds be “important” or successful.

I have saw people in my life who have achieved differing amounts of success in what they do in their jobs. Granted, these people ARE successful in that place, in that state. Yet they feel that they can go outside of that micro universe and are automatically hailed with the same amount of power or authority that they have within it.

It is a drive we have as human beings. We feel that we MUST succeed. We feel that we MUST be important and popular. Sometimes that drive consumes us. It eats away at us until it is all that we see and feel. Along the way the important things, the things that really matter in life, are neglected or lost totally.

There is a Zen philosophy which goes something like this:

 “If you put your mind on enemy movement, it will be taken by enemy movement.
If you put your mind on the enemy sword, it will be taken by the enemy sword.
If you put your mind on trying to cut the enemy, it will be taken by trying to cut.
If you put your mind on your sword, your mind will be taken by your sword.
If you put your mind on trying not to be cut, it will be taken by trying not to be cut.
If you put your mind on the posture, it will be taken by the posture.
There is no place to put your mind on.”


It goes on for a bit but the lesson should be obvious. To focus on something is not a bad thing. In every- day life we have things happen which demand our attention. If we see delicious food, our mind lingers on it. If we see a beautiful woman or a handsome man we take notice. If we see a way to make a large sum of money, we are enticed by that as well. Yet the trick is: don’t become obsessed with these things.

If I am sparring and I allow all of my attention to settle on how much larger than I am my opponent is that attention can take my mind. It can lead to fear. It can change the way I fight and if I fight out of fear I will make mistakes. By just obsessing on that one thing, I defeat myself because my mind locks on that fear.

This blog is not about keys to your success. I am not a self- help guru. I am a Sensei. I am a teacher. This blog is about karate-do, the WAY of karate. Yet the lessons we learn in the dojo can be most valuable in our lives every day outside of the dojo. It is the deeper meanings of karate that we must strive to learn. It is the lessons kata and kumite offer us if we look past the physical that will manifest themselves on our lives if we allow them to.

Want to know the secret to my success? It’s simple: I don’t have one. I do not seek success or the adoration of everyone in the world. If I help one person better themselves through my teaching, I am a success. If I help one person, man or woman, defend themselves or their loved ones when they have to, I am a success. I will never be famous. I do not seek to be famous. You will never read about me in Black Belt Magazine. I have no real desire to be in its’ pages. I simply offer to teach what I have learned to anyone who cares to learn from me because I honestly care for other people. I am not insulted when people chose not to learn from me. If it is their path to learn from another, or not learn at all, that is their life and their choice. I am but a small light in the universe. That is enough for me for the huge lights are the ones that shine brightly for a time then burn out. I would rather remain humble and retain my honor than to be famous and lose my integrity. Some have claimed that has been a problem with me in my life. I simply smile and know who I am. That, my friend, is the secret to being a success. Know who you are. If you must struggle to change anything in your life, struggle to change the things that will make you a better person and make you happy. If others can or will not accept that, it doesn’t really matter at the end of the day.

What matters is you being satisfied that you are the best person you can be.

  1. April 3, 2012 at 9:38 am

    I feel like you were reading my post before I posted, because as soon as I did, this was in my inbox. That’s a complicated sentence.

    Hope you’re doing well.

    • April 3, 2012 at 9:40 am

      I am much better, thank you. And thank you so much for reading so fast 🙂

  2. April 4, 2012 at 2:13 am

    I agree completely. The only time I feel like crap is when I focus too far ahead and think I’m not doing enough already. Which minimizes all that I have done. Nice post!

    Oh I see you said you’re feeling better too! That’s great!

    • April 5, 2012 at 2:57 pm

      🙂
      Live in the moment MC. Remember:
      The past is dead. The future is imagined.

  3. April 5, 2012 at 11:41 am

    That last sentence, knowing that I am being the best person I can be, is the crux of this post. I totally agree with you about the flood of “life coaching” blogs out there”. Only I can know if I am being the best I can be! Thank you for such a forthright and right-on-target post today.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

