Home > Random Thoughts, Uncategorized > Tumors, Blood Pressure, And Bacon…Oh My

Tumors, Blood Pressure, And Bacon…Oh My


Ah, the joys of aging.

I am not old by any means. I go to the gym, work out, run. Four nights a week I don my white pajamas and black belt and punch and kick and scream and teach karate. I’m in pretty good shape.

I thought.

Several months ago I discovered a lump on the back of my neck. I didn’t think much of it. I had been lifting pretty heavy (for me) that week and figured it was a pulled muscle or something. The thing was: it never went away.

Last week I finally went to the doctor to get it checked out. I hate doctors. Well I hate going to them. I went in and they did the usual stuff: weighed me, looked in my ears and throat, and …took my blood pressure.  It was off the chart. My BP has always been a bit high or low depending on my level of activity. I usually shrug it off and go back to the gym and the treadmill and level it out myself. Not this time. They immediately put me on meds, slapped me on the wrist, and gave me the lecture about diet and exercise. Then they did the thing I absolutely hate more than anything else in this world. They took a needle, rammed it in my arm, and took my blood. To be honest, the lady who did it was a pro and there was no pain. I’ve just always had a “thing” about needles. OK…it’s a phobia of sorts. Three days later I got the results back. Guess what? My  Cholesterol is also at critical mass. My triglister thingies were a 498. Supposed to be between 100 and 150. Yay. More diet changes. More meds. Oh, and they are saying the meds for this can cause memory loss. I swear, I think we as a nation are medicating ourselves into old age and senility.

Oh…and the lump. Well the good news: it’s not cancer. It is either a tumor or a cyst. Either way, as the Doctor said, “Wellllll THAT has to come out”. So on March 15th I will give birth to a happy baby tumor at my local cut-n-butcher shoppe.

It’s all for the best I know. Yesterday I did a Women’s Self Defense Class. After it was over my neck and back were killing me. My neck has been in a lot of pain since the coming of the alien growth there to the point that sleeping has become near to impossible. It seems my bouncing baby tumor has these little tentacles that kind of grow out into my muscles and nerves cause that fun-filled feeling that hurts constantly.

And you guys were wondering where I had been the past couple of weeks…

  1. Amy
    March 4, 2012 at 9:53 am

    Glad to know the tumor is benign. Tough stuff to go through… the good news is that you know how to take care of yourself… hugs and healing vibes your way.

  2. March 4, 2012 at 9:55 am

    Thank you, Amy. I’ll take all the positive energy and healing vibes I can get.

  3. March 4, 2012 at 11:55 am

    @__@

    Take care of yourself
    But of course, I know you do. You’re into karate and such stuff, for Pete’s sakes. Still…..

    Davy Jones of the Monkees ( remember him ?) was a sportsman and a vegetarian. And yet…. so take care, sensei.

  4. March 4, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    ooooh … my goodness young man! How are you feeling! Oh. My. Goodness! You know, I was actually wondering where you were.

    Ow, ow! ow! as to the baby tumor back there… sounds very uncomfortable. Oh hell, we’re all uncomfortable with needles. You kidding me? LOL 🙂 Who wants to be poked and prodded? Not me that’s for sure!

    What kind of cholesterol medication did they give you? Memory loss… really? You want me to find out what kind my friend is on? Well, he obviously has a different doctor but he’s an IT guy and has no memory issues at all. Know what I mean?

    You have a stressful job too no? You’re a c.o.? So, you changing your diet and stuff or… ? Inquiring minds would like to know… LOL 🙂

    • March 8, 2012 at 4:02 pm

      lol…Lot of questions. But I’m on Lipitor (please don’t ask if I spelled it right)

      • March 8, 2012 at 5:08 pm

        I do believe you spelled it right. Well… I dunno… maybe change your diet. I do not know enough about these matters to make a suggestion. LOL 🙂

  5. March 5, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    Praying for a complete recovery and relief from the pain. So pleased it was not malignant!

  6. March 7, 2012 at 8:48 am

    A Little Update:

    I have been back in the gym since the news. With the help (?) of the meds and running 3 – 5 miles a day the BP has leveled off. I have also dropped about 3 pounds. Not too shabby for a couple of weeks. Of course like I tried to tell the doctor, I can always get it right if I just exercise. OK, enough inner arguing with the health care professional. I will keep up the workouts. May even try to trim back down to my “Bruce Lee Body”. (…that was a joke)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

