Liebster Blog Award


I wanted to say a very heart-felt thank you to Warrior Poet for nominating the blog for the Liebster Blog Award. It is a very humbling feeling to be recognized by others.

To let you guys who read this blog know, it actually began as sort of a newsletter for my students. Hey, it saved a ton of money on ink and printer paper. Somewhere along the way I began writing things on philosophy, training, and such. Then I began giving my own thoughts and ideals on them. I noticed that there were several people besides my students reading the posts. I wanted the public in general to understand how I saw real traditional karate. I also wanted to help others as much as I could and started the tips on self-defense.

As time went on I began to read other people’s blogs. In turn, they began to read mine. I would usually get around 10 or 15 hits on the blog on a good day. I think the most I ever had in one day was 42 back last summer. Around Christmas I saw that the number of people taking a peek at it was increasing. Suddenly I had quite a few readers. Yesterday, early in the morning, I saw just a crazy amount of hits on the blog. I shrugged it off as it was a holiday and I figured there must be a lot of bored people out there. But it KEPT going! By the time I got off work I had over 100 hits. Not much I suppose but to me it was humbling. When I got home, there were well over 100 hits and Warrior Poet had nominated the blog.

It is deeply touching to me to be given this award. I am at a loss for words. At the same time it inspires (for lack of better word) me to attempt to keep passing on my ideals on something that is far more than a passion in my life: traditional karate-do. I hope that I can continue to inspire people or at least inform them or make them think.

An old proverb says:

A man of the world, when promoted to black belt will swell up with pride. He will puff out his chest and yell to the people “Look at me!” A man of the Tao will accept the honor with all humility. He will bow his head and slump his shoulders. He will quietly walk along side the wall of the dojo and leave with few words.”

It is in that spirit that I say thank you for your support and kind recognition.

  1. January 18, 2012 at 1:49 am

    Congratulations! 🙂

  2. January 18, 2012 at 6:25 am

    Wonderful proverb. Don’t forget to use the award to it’s fullest potential and nominate other worthy creators as well. 🙂
    Peace & grace,
    ~Miro

  3. January 21, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    Congratulations, sensei ! I’m glad more people are reading you now.

    Cheers !

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

