Home > Dojo News, Random Thoughts, Uncategorized > Young Lady, you need to call us

Young Lady, you need to call us


My daughter was sick and we took her to the doctor Friday. After finishing up at the office we went to th local Walgreen’s to get her medication. As we were leaving and heading for our car I noticed a small red car parked on the right side of us and a green mini van parked on the left. A young couple was at the red car and there were two very young girls, one in a baby carrier, were inside the vehicle. Both the van and the car had windows smashed out and covered with plastic.

As we got inside of our car I saw that the couple was having a full blown argument. The babies were crying. We began to back out and I told my wife to not leave just yet. We sat and I watched the confrontation. The girl got into her car and attempted to close the door, the guy grabbed the door and I put my hand on my own door handle ready to do what had to be done. The girl slammed the door closed and the guy walked to the van, got in, and drove away.

Saturday my wife returned to Walgreens for more medication. We have all been under the weather of late. As she was heading for her car the very same scenario unfolded right in front of her. Same vehicles, same couple, same parking places. As she approached them the guy grabbed the girl. My wife than yelled at him and ordered him to let her go or she was going to call 911. The guy tried to make up some excuse or something and my wife ordered him to get in his van and leave or face the consequences. Surprisingly, he complied.

My wife walked up to the girl and asked if she was alright. She then gave her one of my business cards and told her, “You need to talk to my husband”. The girl looked at the card and replied “Karate?” My wife told her her to just call, that I could help her.

So this is to that young lady: You need to call me. If by some miracle you read this, you need to get in contact with me. No, I’m not wanting to train you to be a killing machine. I do know people who can help you. The kind of behavior being shown by this young man will not stop on its’ own. You can make up excuses and justify it in your mind as much as you want, but it will not stop until you take steps to stop it. The windows in your vehicles being broken out tells me there is a very strong tendency for violence here. You have two very young girls that depend on you. You can’t let them suffer from this.

So I’m asking you very honestly and sincerely, please get in touch with me and let me get you in touch with some people who can help you before something worse happens. Even though you gave my wife your name I won’t mention it here. Nor will I mention it to anyone else at any time. You know who you are and you know in your heart that you can’t let this continue.

Young Lady, you need to call us.

  1. The Pinoy Herbalist
    January 6, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    Hope she calls. Martial arts is more than just techniques. If from your training and help, she can gain confidence, she can change her situation, not just constantly defend against violence.

  2. January 6, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    Thank you, PH. I am not even offering training for her unless she wants it. My dojo supports the Family Crisis Center here in town. We constantly do food drives and things of that nature for them. There are some great people there who can help her immediately. They offer counseling and even immediate shelter if the case warrents. Plus they have advocates and connections with Law Enforcement. I think she needs to sit down with these guys and get some real and tangible help asap.

  3. The Pinoy Herbalist
    January 8, 2012 at 7:40 am

    That’s a wonderful program your dojo has, and the coordination of services. Hope she can get in touch with the help she needs.

  4. January 12, 2012 at 2:01 am

    I took my daughter for karate and Tai Kwon Do lessons for a good number of years for this very reason. She used to have a pretty powerful front kick, knocked over that tall red kicking thing (lol whatever it’s called) with one shot at age, I believe 11.

    I’ve always told her, if she can’t get away, flatten whoever it is and don’t worry about hurting them because they’re not going to worry about hurting her. A parents greatest nightmare.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

