Home > Philosophy, Random Thoughts, Training > Is it really that time again?

Is it really that time again?


I came in to work today and sat down to fill out all of my paperwork in order to get the day started. I have a ton of it to do and like to get it out of the way first thing when I get here. As I was going through them I realize: It’s August 22, 2011. Another summer has passed us by and it seems like it went so quickly. I take a bit of comfort in knowing that by this time next year I will have been retired from this job for almost three months and doing something different.

In a few weeks the kids will be heading back to school (if they haven’t already), the leaves will be changing, and here in Colorado the first snow will probably happen by the middle of October.

We have had a full summer at the dojo. We’ve gotten some new faces and we’ve lost some of our family as well. Theresa and Lindy traveled to Canada to compete in the 8th Annual World Shito-Ryu Championships. We began in a series of “rolling seminars” and even hosted one. We competed in The State Games Karate Tournament and did well considering the circumstances.
I sat down last week and thought about all of that and a lot more. I think sometimes we get so busy with “things” it can easily take our focus from our karate. Tsunetomo Yamamoto wrote:

Everyone lets the present moment slip by, then looks for it as though he thought it was somewhere else. No one seems to have noticed this fact. But grasping this firmly, one must pile experience upon experience. And once one has come to this understanding he will be a different person from that point on, though he may not always bare it in mind. When one understands this settling into single-mindedness well, his affairs will thin out.

I think sometimes we let the present moment slip by. Sometimes we lose focus on some things that are important because we get caught up in the moment or with other things in life.

With the changing of the season and the coming of new things, our training is about to change and become new as well. Well…it’s really not going to be new just different. Back To The Basics has become my mantra lately. You will probably hear me say it a lot in the near future.

  1. August 27, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    Ah, Sensei ! Are you retiring from your “regular ” work at the Dept. of Corrections, or as teacher of martial arts? It’s good to know your students are doing well in competitions.

    Cheers and be well in everything you do.

  2. August 28, 2011 at 5:29 am

    Hi Ren. Just from the prison. I could no longer retire from karate than I could breathing. It is a part of my life as much as people eat. I actually intend to devote more time to it when I retire.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

